St. Kitts and Nevis enhances global presence by joining La Francophonie

In a significant move to enhance international relations and foster economic growth, St. Kitts and Nevis has officially joined La Francophonie. La Francophonie is a prestigious group of 88 states and member governments, including observers that share French as a common language and uphold shared values.

This strategic decision, spearheaded by the Senior Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Trade, Industry, Commerce and Consumer Affairs, the Right Honourable Dr. Denzil Douglas, marks a new era in the Federation’s foreign policy.

Under the guidance of the High Commission in Canada, the Cabinet of St. Kitts and Nevis has greenlighted the nation’s accession to La Francophonie. During his contribution to the 2024 Budget Debate on Tuesday, December 19, 2023, Senior Minister Douglas said that this decision reflects a geostrategic approach aimed at leveraging the Federation’s rich history, culture, and soft power. It is poised to intensify and amplify business, trade, tourism, and investment opportunities, particularly with Francophone Canada.


Click country flag to view profile and related resources.


Antigua & Barbuda

Commonwealth of Dominica



Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

St. Vincent and the Grenadines