Government orders closure of the border and suspends visas for Haitians

The Dominican Government has responded to the situation on the border with Haiti by announcing a series of measures aimed at defending sovereignty and ensuring national security. These actions were decided during a meeting of the National Security Council led by President Luis Abinader.

The measures include the closure of the border between the Dominican Republic and Haiti, the suspension of visas for Haitian citizens until further notice, and the maintenance of a complete border closure through Dajabón. If the conflict persists beyond a specific deadline, there will be a total closure of the border for land, sea, and air trade.


Click country flag to view profile and related resources.


Antigua & Barbuda

Commonwealth of Dominica



Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

St. Vincent and the Grenadines