CPL confirms Jamaica Tallawahs to be replaced by Antigua-based franchise

Jamaica Tallawahs, the 2022 Caribbean Premier League champions, will not feature in the tournament’s 2024 season and will be replaced by a new franchise based in Antigua and Barbuda.

Amidst the celebratory echoes of the Tallawahs’ triumph, an unexpected announcement rippled through the cricketing community. The Tallawahs, with their storied legacy, would not grace the fields of the 2024 CPL season.

In a surprising turn of events, the franchise had been sold back to the CPL by its owner, Kris Persaud, a Guyanese businessman based in Florida. The decision was attributed to the owners’ inability to operate the team, leaving them with no choice but to part ways with the reigning champions.


Click country flag to view profile and related resources.


Antigua & Barbuda

Commonwealth of Dominica



Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

St. Vincent and the Grenadines